Beyond Gilwell


The past few days, I have thought about what Wood Badge teaches you.
I am reminded of the tenets of Wood Badge, which I have my Challenge Coin to help.

Bring the Vision to Life.
Leading to make a difference.
Models for success.
Living the Values.
Tools of the Trade.

The goal of Wood Badge, these days as I see it, is to find something you are passionate about that you can apply the SMART method to and get is accomplished.  However, what is important to you?  Is it based upon your current Scouting Position, your home life or within your employment?  It is all of those.

Earning your Beads, is a goal.  It’s not the END GOAL!  I have written about this before.  This is my last year as Cubmaster for Pack 221.  I am now the Pioneer District Training Chair.  What do I want to do going forward.

In the past couple of days and weeks, I have come up against several challenges to what I believe is my personal goal for the Pack, District and myself.   I have been reminded what it is all about.  It’s about the Youth.  It is also about my family and those around me.

What’s the benefit to me?  Is that selfish?  I do not think so.  Scoutmaster Clarke Green recently blogged about it.  I get that sentiment, perfectly.  I know of several Scouter’s recently who have told their Units that they are stepping down.  It was for the right reasons.  I also know several Scouter’s who have stepped down from District positions, again for the right reasons.

To me, it’s Family, Work, Unit, District and then Council that gets my attention.

I have done what Council has asked because it’s what I do.  The same for the District.  The Unit is more important above all.  My family overrules all things.  There are not excuses, but reasons of why I do things.  I try to guide myself by this.

While, I cannot do everything that I want to, I do what I feel will show my family the direction I want them to take.  Scouting allows me that opportunity to make it happen.

So, what is beyond Gilwell?  Do I follow those principles?  We all know the Scout Oath and Law or the Cubscout Promise & Law of the Pack.  Do we live it personally or do we pay it lip service?

It is a constant struggle.  I will leave you with this, that I found on Scoutermom.com.  I found this Cubmaster Minute in my research for the upcoming Pack Meetings.

Make a Difference to One

A man was walking along a beach with a friend. There had been a storm the night before and thousands of starfish were stranded on the beach, unable to get back to the water.

The man began picking up starfish and throwing them back into the ocean.

His friend said, “What are you doing? There are thousands of starfish on the beach. You can’t possibly get them all back in the water. Why waste your time? You won’t make a difference.”

The man looked at his friend, picked up a starfish, and threw it back into the ocean. All he said was, “I made a difference to that one.”

In our lives, we encounter many other people and have many chances to impact their lives. Don’t wait for opportunities to make a huge impact on the world. Do what you can in your own community, and you might make an difference on someone who really needs it.

One thought on “Beyond Gilwell”

Comments are closed.