The Wrong Training


Today, was my training day off.  I had signed up to take AED and re-certify on First Aid /CPR.  I got it done.  I am good for the next two years.  I am a tad early for First Aid/CPR since it’s up in December, but why wait.  Never had AED and that bothered me.
Getting trained in anything First Aid is a real goal for me.  I love learning and good Training.  All during today I kept thinking back to when I took the Wilderness First Aid class.  My friend Jerry took his at the same time and we chatted about it to see what the differences were between the Red Cross and WMI.  Basically nothing.
I obviously do this type of training also because I am the Cubmaster and I need to have it just in case.  I do have my First Aid kit and the Pack has its January First Aid Pack Meeting each year.  I have plans for that this year already.

But today, during training I felt like I just was not getting what I needed or wanted.  I learned more about the AED and how it relates to CPR and why you want to use it.  It’s a great device.  To which, I am going to investigate the one at my kid’s School.  I need to see if they have the pediatric patches.  If they don’t I will get them.  Since it’s an Elementary school, the adult sized ones don’t really work.  It’s the difference on how much voltage it sends down.

I had a Chatty Cathy and I learned more about her, her family Ex-Husband, her diabetic cat, the fact if this woman dies he son is going to do away with it and so so much more.   Yes, I review CPR and she made us do it.  Same with AED.  But right out of the gate, she kept reading her notes, skipping from one place to the next.  Giving us her life story.

I sat there thinking, I am having Death by Powerpoint without the Powerpoint.  I had to sit through it to get my cards.  I spent $$$$ to do this.  I used a day off for this.  Yes, there were about 8 people there for work because they required it.

I cringed at some of the stuff she said.  The WMI Wilderness First Aid people had the same stories, but they were USEFUL and TIMELY.  They were in a position of authority.  This woman was just Cindy Lauper “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” frizzy big haired woman with a Cat!   I wanted to challenge her on several topics but stopped short because a few people did.  But she beat them down with “ITS IN THE BOOK!”  The moment someone does that and references THE BOOK, it’s all over.  In the WFA class, they would get questioned and the instructors would reply back with “This is what I did when this happened during this one rescue.”

So, I didn’t because she would not learn from it.

My first Red Cross First Aid class was wonderful.  I learned alot.  The WFA class was totally amazing.  I even love it more.  It’s real world First Aid.  This class, was all video and reading from the book.  She asked if we wanted to do the bandages, slings and other First Aid demos.  Everyone said no.  You do not give a class the option of doing something that they are going to possible use in the real world. YOU DO IT!  I also suspect that the class by this time just wanted to get out and leave and get the cards.

If you want First Aid Training.  Get CPR/AED.  Take Wilderness First Aid as you will learn more and keep more from it.

I will be giving a report back to the local Chapter of the Red Cross.  A Scout is Honest.  That wasn’t training.

One thought on “The Wrong Training”

  1. Took WFA through WMI and was blown away by the training. And you’re right a huge positive was the real world experience of the instructors and also the hands-on exercises. Things I thought I knew I learned to do better and things where “The Book” didn’t seem practical the instructors related to actual experiences where they took the theory and adapted to fit the situation. It was the dialog between the instructors and participants that reminded me why I prefer hands-on-in-person training. Of course that assumes you have good trainers.

    Like this

Comments are closed.