A Look Back


IMG_2852   I am trying to come up with a post that talks about all of Pack 221′s accomplishments for the past calendar year.   Outside of the announcement that for the second year in a row, we have attained Gold for the 2012 Journey to Excellence, our program is good.  I know that there are weak points within the Program and within the Committee, but what Scout Unit doesn’t?  If they don’t then well, they are mindless and their compass is defective.  My goal since I took over as Cubmaster is to make this Pack a lot better than I got it.  I have had my Committee Chair say that is true.

I can say that just about every Den has 10 Scouts in it and we basically have grown each year.  The Committee is good and is growing into their positions after adding a few new parents to it.   My replacement was found and accepted the position.  The new Committee Chair is on board as well since re-charter is basically over.

The new Committee Chair is looking into  the 2013 Wood Badge, but the Cubmaster has already signed up.  For me, that is a huge win.  I think Wood Badge will help them understand more of Scouting and get them more information and support than I can.  Not to say that I did not give it, but hearing it from another source than myself is good.

The Committee and Den Leaders as a whole are now functioning way better than what I had as a Tiger Den Leader.  Pack 221 is now in its 62nd year as a Scout Unit.  It is always good to leave something a little bit better than you found it.    While I will not be far after I turn over my duties on April 6th, 2013 when the Webelos II “Tree Scouts” earn the Arrow of Light and crossover, I know that Pack 221 will be in good hands.

