The Final Countdown


Cubmaster-ULAMAs I pointed out last week in a post, the Pack Committee submitted me for the Unit Leader of Merit Award as Cubmaster.  It is and will always be one of the great highlights within my life to be a part of Pack 221.  To be honored as such at the Blue & Gold, was just that, an Honor.

People have joked with me as what am I going to do after Cubscouts.  “Hey, you’d make a great Scoutmaster!”  True, maybe someday.  While I do look forward to not being at a meeting Monday night, or a Committee meeting Sunday night or figuring something out, I will miss it.

I am very glad that I have my replacement.  She’s a retired US Army Major in the JAG Corp.  My joke is, she is able to take you down and read you your rights at the same time.  She’s very organized and full of ideas.  Some of the photos she sends are great.  Campfire cookout at her house with the Wolf Den! She is energetic, loves Scout songs and does wear the Scout Uniform.  One of her first emails/questions was, “what patches do I need and where do they go?”   Oh, lord…I was in heaven.   And now, she will be at the W1-492-13 Wood Badge Course this April.  Perfect.  The Pack is in good hands.

Equally important is the Committee Chair.  He’s new to it, but been with the Pack for now two years. Equally organized, he’s full of ideas and taking charge in the back office.  They make a good team.  They are both new to Scouting, with their 1.5 years in.  But, heck, I took over as Cubmaster after 8 months.

My greatest worry were two things.  First, that the Pack would spiral downward into chaos and fold after 62 years.  Second, that the program would just suck and not be any fun.  Both still could happen.  But, I realize that a Pack has its own course of destiny.  I know this because of that Crazy Den Mother from Den 8.  I met her.  She’s fun.  I realize that the Pack is totally different that it was that 20 years + ago when she was in it.  The Pack survived and is thriving.

This blog was started after I went to the WE1-402-09 Wood Badge and to help me keep a journal of my journey within Scouting.  It will continue into that next Chapter.

I am honored to have been one of the Cubmasters within the 63 years of Pack 221.  It’s been a great ride.  I am eager to see the Scouts of Pack 221 come through Boy Scouts in the coming years.  Hopefully, I get to sit in on their Eagle Board of Reviews.  Hopefully, it’s one of the Scouts that I was their Tiger Den Leader.

