Knot Again


IMG_0291  There are several posts and threads on many different forums on the Internet about Knots.  I most recently wrote one in July of 2012.  That post and ones linked to it talked about how the Boy Scouts of America have discontinued and replaced a lot of the Cubscout Program based Knots.

Many of us do things within Scouting for the Youth and do not expect to be rewarded publicly for our service.  Some of us are grateful for knots and wearing them in pride.

I am proud to wear the knots that I have.  They are the Tiger Den Leader Knot, The Cubmaster Knot and the Unit Leader of Merit Knot.  I did buy the James E. West Knot.  At this last Roundtable I got the Cubscouter Award Knot.  Each Knot holds something for me.

The Tiger Den Leader Knot reminds me that I made it through the Tiger year.  It’s a baptism of fire for me.  I really did not have a clue as to what I was doing, but made it through and provided the boys a lot of fun.

The Cubmaster Knot is one that made me aware of my responsibility to the Pack.  The Cubmaster is in charge of the Program and direction of the Pack.  It is its own Wood Badge ticket in of itself.  Through that Knot, the Pack now has a successful Summertime Pack Program and has accomplished two Quality Unit Awards and two Gold Journey to Excellence Awards.

The James E West Knot means that I have helped future Scouts that outside of my view to enjoy Scouting.
The Cubscouter Knot is the Cubmaster Knot extended.  I kept doing what I was supposed to do.  It kept me on task within the Pack.
The Unit Leader of Merit.  This means a lot to me.  It means that the Committee and Leaders thought I was doing my job.  This knot is the culmination of all the others.

I have learned a lot about Cubscouts and Scouting during my five years within the Program.  These Knots help tell the story of my journey within Scouting and how the Scouts in the Pack had fun.

Comments Off

Filed under Akela, knots, postaday

Comments are closed.