The Membership Vote


MOP_Patch_PurpleA vote will be held today about the future of the Boyscouts of America.  It centers around if the BSA should allow the LBGT Youth in as members.   I wrote a blog post in July 2012 about my feelings then.  My feelings are still the same.  I have watched, seen and talked to many people about this issue.  I have been asked what I am going to do once the vote is known.  I am going to keep Scouting.

I understand that people of faith and other views have their reasons.  I also understand that some followers of Organized Religions do not fully follow their church’s teachings.  I also understand that their view and belief is what they believe is right.  I cannot and will not fault them.

I ask those within Scouting and who are not in Scouting to follow the Golden Rule, Do unto others as you do unto them or just be nice no matter how the vote turns out.   Both sides can twist words and meaning to their benefit.

I will be staying within Scouting as I stated earlier.  I do this because outside of the issue, Scouts helps prepared the Youth to make judgement calls.  Scouting helps them in building character.  Scouting helps in learning skills for use later in life.  Scouting is there for those who do not have people that they can count on.  I am not worried about the Scouts who come from wealthy families, nor ones who model the Leave it to Beaver upbringing.

From the World organization of The Scouting Movement:

“In 1920, just two years after the most terrible war the world had ever known, 8,000 Scouts from 34 countries came together for the first world jamboree. At the closing ceremony, Scouting founder Robert Baden-Powell called on participants to carry the spirit of the jamboree home “so that we may help to develop peace and happiness in the world and goodwill among all Scouts.””

It was Baden-Powells firm belief that if young people could gather in peace and understand each other, that in the years to come they would help the world become peaceful as Adults.  The youth from years gone by are now Adults.  I hope that they remember the real reason Scouting was started.

If you act in this way, then you are truly a Messenger of Peace.

A Scout is: Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean, Reverent

