Two roads diverged


fork-road

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth; -

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Frost

Tonight, Elliot stood brave at the Troop Meeting and called me over.
He said that he was done.  He did not want to do Scouts anymore.
I somewhat knew that this possible.  He’s been hinting at it for sometime.He had a rocky start just after Crossover and into Camporee.  That Troop wasn’t for him.  He wanted to put forth a good effort and have a good summer.  Which, at the end of it all, wasn’t in the cards.He said he would try a new Troop and wanted to be with his buddies.  He had seen the Troop at Camporee and visited it several times.  We went to a BBQ and met them.  I had talked to the Scoutmaster and others about joining.  They are a great group of Scouters and friends.They say that a Troop is supposed to be Boy Led and Cub scouts is Parent Led.  Sometimes that line is blurred by those who crossover.

Elliot has shown create bravery and courage and Scout Spirit.  He decided to a road less traveled.

He is not leaving because of any membership issues, or registration fee increase.  In case you’re wondering.  No, he does not even know about any of that.  He is leaving because it’s his choice.  Boy Led.

Now, onto the next adventure.

2 Comments

Filed under closing, postaday

2 responses to “Two roads diverged

  1. Yes…I was Elliot’s Tiger Den Leader and Cubmaster. Elliot made it to Scout. Which is farther than I ever did. If the Scout isn’t having fun, and as we describe then it’s his choice.

    Hard to hear, but we need to listen to them. The good thing is, we still can get out and do stuff and use what we have learned and know from the BSA.

    Elliot and I ended up at a yogurt shop and talked more about it. It was a good Father/Son moment. And that relationship is more important than any knot.

    Like

  2. WVCubDad

    Adam, my son left our Troop in March. It happened on the way to the second weekend of a merit badge university. We didn’t have another Scout with us in the vehicle so I thought I would ask him how his scouting was going. He was brutally honest in that he didn’t like it anymore and didn’t want to do it.

    We never made to the merit badge university.

    He was a Patrol Leader, 2nd Class Scout and had earned about 15 merit badges in the couple of years he was in the Troop. He started as a Tiger Cub.

    I had been his den leader, Cubmaster and now Scoutmaster…it hurts even as I recognize his growth in making that decision.

    John

    Like