Girl Scouts and Jamboree on the Trail 2013


GSUSA Troop 45619-JOTT-2013-Safe Today was the 16th Annual Jamboree on the Trail.  It is a World Jamboree for all those in Scouting.  I have written about JOTT before.
This year, due to my retirement from Pack 221 I had a few hour or two.  The Girl Scout Troop Leader asked if I would be able to put on a Hike.  I said YES!

I had wanted to do something with the Girl Scouts since my daughter has been in the Troop since Daisy’s in Kindergarten.

I selected the Portland Audubon Society because it’s a great place for a hike.  It is an easy walk with a lot of signs along the way to help teach people about nature.  Plus, there is a pond with a creek that flows into the Willamette River.  Which flows into the Columbia River then the Pacific Ocean.

I used this creek to teach about Leave No Trace.  I explained the basic’s of Leave No Trace and why it’s a good thing.  Many of the girls already knew the basic’s, but showing them from the source to where they play at the beach, was good.

Before we left the parking lot, we talked about hiking safely, basic supplies and First Aid.   I needed to keep it simple for the Brownies, since this was just their first time on a hike that I led.  The Troop Leader had band aids, wipes, gloves, gauze and a baggie.  As we put them all together, we looked at my First Aid kit and talked about how to help someone.  We also talked about what to do in case of an emergency.

WHO, WHAT, WHERE.  Is what they needed to know. Who is injured, What is wrong and Where they are.  We also talked about always hiking and being with a buddy!

We were all set at this time, so off we went.  The hike itself was pretty easy.  We stopped along the way to listen to the forest and to look at the surroundings.  It is important to have people just stop and be very very quite.  It is amazing what you can hear.  We did that several times. At the pond, the girls were very interested in the salamanders that we saw.  There were about 5-7 of them.  They pointed out plants, algea, trees and water skippers.

As we continued to a hut with benches, we again stopped for a few minutes.  It was there, that I went through a reflection of what we did and learned that day.  We still had the Bird Hospital/Sanctuary to go through.   I wanted to let them know that on this day for the part 16 years that Jamboree on the Trail was happening.  I explained what JOTT is and what it’s for.  I told them that their fellow Scouts (both boys and girls) were out hiking like they were.  I reminded them of their Scout Oath and Law and what it means.

We ended up the hike at the Bird Sanctuary.  It was a good day and a good hike.  It got everyone out into a place that they had not been to and we learned.  Several of the parents thought that the hike was good had fun. I am glad that the Girl Scout Troop got out, saw nature and learned a bit.

As I left the Portland Audubon location, after buying a membership, I was glad that I read the book The Nature-Deficit Disorder.  It helped me create The Cubmaster’s Hike and ultimately get people outdoors and into nature.

(A note about the photo.  Since I do not have permission from the Girl Scout Troop, I smudged out all the girl’s faces except my daughter’s.  Online Youth Protection is an issue as well.)

One thought on “Girl Scouts and Jamboree on the Trail 2013”

  1. Another interesting post, as always! I never think about the connection between Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts and how similar things really can be. Also, your comment at the end reminds me to be diligent about youth protection on so many other levels as well.

    Like this

Comments are closed.